C. Daniel Mote Jr., former President of the National Academy of Engineering (North America)

全球之星 Hit:2,098

日期:2020/05/31   IAE 報導

 C. Daniel Mote Jr.為美國國家工程院院長(2009-2013)

NAE President C.D. Mote, Jr. on Understanding and Executing Leadership

The professor group of IAE International Bachelor's Academy's Global Industry, Government, Research and Teaching Center has exchanges with NAE President C.D. Mote, Jr. for industry-university exchanges. William Chai, the IAE professor's group, recommended him to become the outstanding new generation energy high-tech star of IAE International Bachelor's Academy's global industry, government, academic and research with a history of 350 years. .


Dr. Mote received her Bachelor of Science, Master's, and Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from the University of California, Berkeley.


  Prior to assuming the Maryland presidency, Dr. Mott served at the University of California, Berkeley, for 31 years. From 1991 to 1998, he served as Vice Chancellor of the University of California, Berkeley, where he served as Professor of Mechanical Systems and as President of the UC Berkeley Foundation. He led Berkeley’s comprehensive capital campaign, raising $1.4B. He previously served as chair of the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Berkeley, where he led the department to the No. 1 ranking in a National Research Council review of graduate program effectiveness.

Honors and Awards

  President Mott has received many awards and honors, including the Humboldt Prize from the Federal Republic of Germany. He is the recipient of the Berkeley Citation, akin to an honorary doctorate awarded by the University of California, Berkeley, and was named a Distinguished Engineering Alumnus. He received two honorary doctorates. Other awards include:

  American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Medal (2011)

  National Academy of Engineering Founders Award for comprehensive work on dynamics of moving flexible structures and leadership in academia (2005)

ASME International Technical Committee on Vibration and Sound JP Den Hartog Award for Lifetime Contribution to Vibration Engineering and/or Practice (2005)

  Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2004)

  Honorary doctorates from Tashkent State Technical University (2001), Ohio State University (2001) and Carnegie Mellon University (2004)

  UC Berkeley Award (1998), Distinguished Engineering Alumni (2001) and Distinguished Achievement Award (2007)

  Elected to the U.S. National Academy of Engineering (1988)

  Named one of the "Top 50 Most Influential Marylanders" by The Daily Record (2007)

  Washington Magazine's Washingtonian of the Year (2005)

  Named one of the 20 most influential business leaders in Washington, D.C., by Business Forward Magazine (2001 and 2002)

  University of Maryland President's Commission on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Issues Diversity Award Recipient (2009)

  Professional membership

  He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and serves on its Board of Governors, and a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He was elected an honorary member of ASME International (Most Distinguished Honor) and is a fellow of the International Academy of Wood Sciences, the Acoustical Society of America, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.


  President of the United States, National Academy of Engineering (NAE) (2013)

  National Research Council Executive Committee (2009-2011)

  Chairman, National Research Council Committee on Global Science and Technology Strategies and Their Implications to U.S. National Security (2009-2010)

  President of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering (2009-2013)

  Competitiveness Council Steering Committee: Energy Security, Innovation and Sustainability (2009-2011)

  National Academy of Sciences Corporation Board of Directors and Audit Committee (2010-present)

  International Council of the Confucius Institute Headquarters in Beijing, China (2009 to present)

  Economic Advisor, Jiangsu Provincial Government of the People's Republic of China (2005-2009)

  University Research Association Trustees and Audit Committee (2008-present)

  National Academies Committee on Science, Engineering, and Public Policy (COSEPUP) (2007-present)

  Co-Chair, Government Universities Industrial Research Roundtable (GUIRR), National Research Institute (2007-present)

  Maryland Higher Education Funding Model Development Committee (2007-2009)

  National Academies Committee on Science, Security, and Prosperity (COSSP) (2007-2008)

  Committee on Science Communication and National Security (CSCANS) of the National Academy of Sciences (2005-2007)

Founding member, FBI National Security Higher Education Advisory Council (2004-present)

  National Research Council Board of Governors (2007-2008)

  National Research Council Commission on Global Economic Prosperity in the 21st Century: The U.S. Science and Technology Agenda (2005)

  Vice Chairman, Defense Basic Research Council, National Research Council (2004)